Showing posts sorted by relevance for query BC. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query BC. Sort by date Show all posts

Monday, December 18, 2023

The Steel Bridge (Portland) and Washington Avenue Transit Bridge (Minneapolis)

The Steel_Bridge and the Washington_Avenue_Bridge, if only such bridges were allowed in Greater_Vancouver...

The Steel-Bridge is old, yet adequately functioning as a multi-model crossing.

Upper: 2 outer lanes for general traffic, 2 inner lanes solely for MAX Light Rail, and sidewalks on both sides
Lower: Union Pacific Railroad (incl. Amtrak toward Eugene) and walkway. 

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/51/Amtrak_talgo_train_crossing_steel_bridge.jpg

"The bridge has two decks, with the lower deck designated for motor vehicle traffic and light rail trains and the upper deck used for pedestrians and bicycles (lanes specifically for bikes are on the north side)." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_Avenue_Bridge_(Minneapolis)

Unfortunately, the Skybridge between NW & Surrey, has no bus & bike lanes. Thus, its another fine example of backward BC planning. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skybridge_(TransLink)

Even though the SkyTrain wasn't intended to run 24hrs, no adequate future capacity provisions were included into the design of the SkyBridge. Ideally, the bridge should have had at least 3 tracks on 1 deck. Plus, 2 bus & bike lanes on another deck, with 2 lanes for emergency vehicles that would all be open 24-7. 

Apparently, it was better to funnel everything into the inept Pattullo_Bridge. A narrow 4 lane joke of a crossing with only 1 narrow sidewalk. Its so nice that the Sydney-Harbour-Bridge has 2 pathways. Surrey is set to become the largest city in BC. Thus, Surrey & NW should have had several bridges like Portland_OR by now.

In the 1930s, NSW already had a sense of Sydney being a substantial state capital on the Pacific for quite a while. In contrast, NW, BC emphasized its status of a former backwater provincial capital & perpetuated its small-minded city mentality.

Thus, the Sydney_Harbour_Bridge was originally built with six lanes, 4 sets of tracks & two sidewalks. Where as the Pattullo_Bridge was a fine example of backwater BC thinking & planning. Unlike the impressive Sydney_Harbour_Bridge, there is no comparable high level bridge in BC which is capable of carrying double deck passenger trains. Of course it should be noted that NSW has seen itself as a mighty state on the Pacific for quite a long time. Thus, the 1930s Sydney_Harbour_Bridge remains so far ahead of anything in backwater provincial BC.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sydney_Harbour_Bridge_cycleway Unlike the BC aproach, NSW didn't have to remove any traffic lanes. Ultimately, Vancouver will have traffic lanes removed from 3 of its bridges, because the city refuses to build anything like the magnificent Tilikum_Crossing in Portland, OR. Vancouver was one of the first cities to get rid of its streetcars & will likely be one of the last to ever bring them back. Well fortunately, there was nothing like the BC mentality to stop the Portland_Streetcar_or_the_Tilikum_Bridge

The tram-train MAX_and_bus_on_Tilikum_the_Crossing. If only backward Vancouver, BC would allow such a fine transit bridge, then there would be less congestion on the existing narrow bridges. Indeed, Greater Vancouver refuses to build a series of bus-bridges, even though that would relieve some of the regional congestion.

Unlike in the largest urban area in BC, Portland,_OR was able to build many more bridges.

https://www.pattullobridgereplacement.ca Of course the bridge wasn't built with the provision for a lower deck similar to what's on the Tilikum Bridge. https://www.pattullobridgereplacement.ca/about/projectoverview It wasn't allowed to have 8 lanes like the Anzac_Bridge_in_Sydney. So no bus & HOV lanes, just have everything crammed into a 4 lane bottleneck. No emergency lanes, it will open with only 2 lanes each way, but with the potential to become a 6 lane bridge, some day. So, just like the Skybridge, it won't have 2 dedicated bus lanes. 

Unlike the Skybridge in NW, at least the North-Arm-Bridge to Richmond has 1 bike lane, but there should have been 2 as well as 2 bus lanes & even 2 emergency vehicle lanes on the North_Arm_Bridge. Since the North_Arm_Bridge doesn't have 24hr train service & no bus lanes, late-night buses only have the 4 lane bottlenecks that are the Oak_Street_BridgeKnight_Street_Bridge & the Queensborough_Bridge. Of course there are no emergency vehicle lanes, because even they should be subjected to the overall congestion of the region.

The Sydney_Harbour_Bridge, the Anzac_Bridge & the Tilikum_Crossing were all possible, simply because they aren't subjected to anything like the restrictions impose in Greater_Vancouver or BC in general. The BC part of Canada is trapped in some kind of a stagnation loop or a series of restrictions to stiefel or thwart infrastructure upgrades & progress. However, so many other cities around the world just aren't subjected to anything like the BC approach to things. 


https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=Portland

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=Tilikum+Crossing

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=transit+bridges

Tuesday, November 14, 2023

The very narrow The Lions Gate Bridge in Vancouver

 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lions_Gate_Bridge

 "The 1933 bylaw authorizing construction included a provision mandating that "no Asiatic person shall be employed in or upon any part of the undertaking or other works". https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lions_Gate_Bridge#History

https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/daily-quotidien/221026/dq221026b-eng.htm While Canada has allowed for more diversity over the decades, Canada has nowhere near  even 1% of the world's' population. It's been a struggle just for Canada to accommodate half of 1% of the human population.

Unfortunately for most of the 20th century, Vancouver was to remain as just a provincial backwater for as long as possible. For had the city been allowed to flourish onto the scale of the likes of SydneySan_Francisco or even Seattle, that would mean there would be a lot more people. Which means more non-white people and that was just too uncomfortable a notion for the White colonial mindset.

Of course the colonial mindset could be seen all over the world, but so many other cities weren't thwarted like Vancouver and Victoria. You will never find any official BC mandate revealing that it was to remain as a provincial backwater for as long as possible. 

Thus, the local power structure continually tried to hold things back for most of the cities history. A multigenerational stunted growth policy is a clever way to slow a city and province down. Calgary and Seattle became big business cities, because they aren't under any BC type restrictions.

One only look at what Alberta and Washington_(state) have been able to do, because they aren't in BC.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alberta#Transportation

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_(state)#Transportation

The 12 lane Ship_Canal_Bridge in Seattle is the closest big & wide bridge to V-BC. Although the Port_Mann_Bridge is much closer, it only has 10 lanes. Unfortunately, both bridges don't have any existing rail component. 

Fortunately, Vancouver, WA wasn't forced to indefinitely endure a 3 lane bottleneck like V-BC has.

The planners of the Sydney_Harbour_Bridge didn't have a backwater BC mindset. However, after several decades, the SHB was augmented by the Sydney_Harbour_Tunnel. Unfortunately, there was no provision for a 3rd lane each way to allow for express buses.

https://www.transport.nsw.gov.au/projects/current-projects/western-harbour-tunnel-and-warringah-freeway-upgrade How is this possible? Of course NSW isn't under any backwater BC type restrictions.

https://caportal.com.au/rms/wht

The Western_Harbour_Tunnel should have had an extra section for future express busses or even another train line. 

While something like the Sydney_Metro should have already gone under the harbour decades ago, at least it's not as late to the party like Vancouver is.

"Stage 1 (Metro North West) operates with 6-car trains running on 4-minute headways. After the addition of the Stage 2 extension to Bankstown, the stations’ platforms will be configured to allow for future use of 8-car trains and the signalling system designed to allow for 2-minute headways, both of which are planned to be introduced once sufficient patronage demands it. Eight-car trains have a design capacity of 1,539 customers and increasing the running frequency to ultimately 30 trains per hour (2-minute headway) would provide a maximum capacity of 46,170 passengers per hour per direction." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sydney_Metro#Capacity 

"In the event that extensions to 8 cars happens if sufficient demand warrants the contract, two infill carriages will be added between cars 05 and 06." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sydney_Metro_Metropolis_Stock#Service_formation This allowace for such expansion just isn't part of the BC mentality, but for NSW, it's not a problem.

With the Lions_Gate_Bridge being so narrow, it's impossible to have proper HOV & express bus lanes. Yet for decades, the city refuses to build a bus & HOV tunnel.

Although Portland is a stunted city when compared to Seattle, Portland still has a much better set of bridges than Vancouver, BC. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metro_Vancouver_Regional_District

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portland_metropolitan_area,_Oregon


https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=bridges

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=BC

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=Seattle

Monday, November 27, 2023

The Pattullo Bridge saga in BC

The old Pattullo_Bridge was built with a narrow sidewalk on only one side & a road deck that can barely hold 4 narrow lanes. It's all part of the narrow mindedness of the BC mentality.

 https://www.pattullobridgereplacement.ca/about/projectoverview/

https://604now.com/new-pattullo-bridge-completion-updated-photos-renderings/

"The new Pattullo Bridge is on track for completion in 2024, but business leaders in Surrey are calling for six lanes to be open to vehicle traffic on day one, instead of four as currently planned." https://globalnews.ca/news/9489375/pattullo-replacement-six-lanes-debate

https://dailyhive.com/vancouver/pattullo-bridge-surrey-board-of-trade

https://604now.com/like-cross-pattullo-bridge-1937 Why build a wide bride that also has 2 wide sidewalks when the bare minimum can be done instead? Then try to build an inadequate replacement bridge with only 4 lanes, no bus & HOV lanes & no emergency lanes. That's the BC way in the 1930s & the 2020s. At least it will have a couple of bike lanes.

https://www.delta-optimist.com/local-news/delta-says-new-pattullo-wont-ease-traffic-woes-3088329 Of course just like the old bridge, there won't be any provision for a lower rail & express bus deck.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/45379817@N08/9660269876 Just the idea that there could be 1 waggon road each way was amazing for BC back then. Somehow, the narrow bridge had just enough width to eventually have 4 waggon roads

https://oppositethecity.wordpress.com/2016/08/27/were-walkin-ridin-drivin-here-traffic-safety-an-issue-in-1937

http://archives.newwestcity.ca/Results.aspx?AC=SEE_ALSO&QF0=NameAccess&QI0==%22Pattullo%20Bridge%22&XC=/Results.aspx&BU=http%3A%2F%2Farchives.newwestcity.ca%2Fsearch.aspx&GI=&TN=internet&SN=AUTO73&SE=1636&RN=7&MR=100&TR=0&TX=1000&ES=0&XP=&RF=WebRelevance&EF=&DF=WebFull&RL=0&EL=0&DL=0&NP=255&ID=&MF=GENERICENGWPMSG.INI&DT=&ST=0&IR=4333&NR=0&NB=0&SV=0&SS=0&BG=&FG=&QS=

Wide+bridges, twinning or duplication can allow for express bus lanes and more HOV_lanes in general.  

http://archives.newwestcity.ca/Results.aspx?AC=NEXT_RECORD&XC=/Results.aspx&BU=http%3A%2F%2Farchives.newwestcity.ca%2Fsearch.aspx&GI=&TN=internet&SN=AUTO26198&SE=1232&RN=51&MR=100&TR=0&TX=1000&ES=0&XP=&RF=WebRelevance&EF=&DF=WebFull&RL=0&EL=0&DL=0&NP=255&ID=&MF=GENERICENGWPMSG.INI&DT=&ST=0&IR=4333&NR=0&NB=0&SV=0&SS=0&BG=&FG=&QS= Of course there was no provision to have a lower deck for trucks & trains. 

http://archives.newwestcity.ca/Results.aspx?AC=NEXT_RECORD&XC=/Results.aspx&BU=http%3A%2F%2Farchives.newwestcity.ca%2Fsearch.aspx&GI=&TN=internet&SN=AUTO26198&SE=1232&RN=49&MR=100&TR=0&TX=1000&ES=0&XP=&RF=WebRelevance&EF=&DF=WebFull&RL=0&EL=0&DL=0&NP=255&ID=&MF=GENERICENGWPMSG.INI&DT=&ST=0&IR=4333&NR=0&NB=0&SV=0&SS=0&BG=&FG=&QS= While a narrow bridge can easily become inadequate, the provision for a lower deck can make all the difference.

https://www2.gov.bc.ca/assets/gov/driving-and-transportation/reports-and-reference/reports-and-studies/frontier_to_freeway.pdf It was quite a thing for BC to have waggon roads & then eventually some were doubel width. Unfortunately, even today, there is a mentality to just have 1 or 2 lanes each way. Yet, such thoroughfares will be marked as a major route when it's not much wider than a country road.  


https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=Multimodal+Bridges+and+Tunnels

https://thedigitallabyrinth.blogspot.com/search?q=Urban+Bus+and+Bike+Lanes+and+Bridges

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=bridges

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=BC

Friday, February 16, 2024

Evolution of the Vancouver SkyTrain 1985-2035

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-3kzHlQQSeg

The Surrey-Langley Skytrain segment. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jx5GBKjiw2c

Just because it's considered light rail, there still should have been a provision to easily have 152 m stations, like with the Montreal Metro stations. Instead, the first 2 lines only can handle 80 m trains & the C Line has a ridiculous 50 M station maximum. This, not properly building for the future agenda, is utterly foolish & inept. In spite of many cities opting for long trains & wide bridges, the BC approach is to provide half sized infrastructure for a half-assed approach to things. Nevertheless, there is still the potential to upgrade it to eventually becoming like a proper big city metro train system. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Expo_Line_(SkyTrain)#Capacity_upgrades

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/e/e6/SkyBridge

This is one of the best examples of BC bottleneck planning so far. The SkyBridge_for_SkyTrain should have had at least 3 tracks, not just 2 & only a maintenance track. The old inadequate 4 lane Pattullo_Bridge has only 1 narrow sidewalk & no bike or bus lanes. Thus, the Skybridge should have had 2 bike lanes & 2 footpaths. There also should have been 2 bus lanes, because when the train shuts down for maintenance or an emergency, a 24hr busway there is vital. The narrow SkyBridge really should have had a provision for a 2nd level, but that would go against the multigenerational congestive planning agenda of BC.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skybridge_(TransLink)

If the very narrow & inept old Patullo-Bridge had much better foundations, it could have become a great foot & bike+bridge, once its replacement opened. Unfortunately, even the new Pattullo_Bridge is already set to be a modern example of BC bottleneck planning. While it will at least have a bike & footpath on both sides, it will open without any proper bus & HOV lanes.

Even if the Expo_Line_(SkyTrain) was somehow open for 24hrs, there would still be the occasional emergency situation requiring the train bridge to close. Yet, even the new 4 lane Pattullo-Bridge will open without any bus, HOV lanes or emergency lanes. Thus, it will become another fine example of BC bottleneck planning. 

The new Pattullo-Bridge should open with 6 lanes & a provision to have at least 8 lanes. This would not only allow for 2 general lanes each way, but a bus & HOV lane each way & a truck lane each way. https://dailyhive.com/vancouver/pattullo-bridge-surrey-board-of-trade

Of course there also should have been a provision for a lower or upper deck, which could provide additional bus & train capacity. Unfortunately, it will start out as another 4 lane backward BC bridge.   


https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=bike+bridges

Monday, June 19, 2023

Multimodal Bridges and Tunnels

 https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/odot/federal-grants/raise/2023/multimodal-connections-on-i-35-over-the-oklahoma-river/application/Project%20Description.pdf

There used to be a time, especially in the mid 20th century, when several bridges were built with narrow sidewalks, or none at all. Forget about emergency lanes & especially not allowing for bus & bike lanes. Just have the crossing get all plugged up, so you are still punished, even if you use public transit.

http://waterlooarchitecture.com/bridge/blog/2018/09/14/multimodal-manila

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2014-08-19/why-portland-is-building-a-multi-modal-bridge-that-bans-cars This is one of the best bridges of its type in the world. The Interstate bridges in downtown Portland,_Oregon have no bike and pedestrian access. However, the Tilikum_Crossing was intended to be a nice counterbalance. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tilikum_Crossing#Design

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Providence_Bridge_Pedal

Vancouver, BC could have really benefited from something like the Tilikum_Crossing_in_Portland. However, no such streetcar or tram-train bridge exists in Vancouver, BC. Fortunately, Portland & Seattle were able to revive some of their old streetcar lines. Cities like New Orleans, Philadelphia, Boston, Toronto, SF & Melbourne retained some of their streetcar or tramlines, unlike Vancouver. 

https://publications.gc.ca/collections/collection_2012/tc/T41-1-50-eng.pdf

The George_Massey_Tunnel in BC, Canada is a sad joke. It wasn't designed to accommodate 2 bus & bike lanes. No footpaths & no emergency lanes. It is a fine example of BC bottleneck planning. The Louis-Hippolyte_Lafontaine_Bridge-Tunnel in Montreal, is slightly a little better.

https://www.highway99tunnel.ca While this new tunnel will have 2 bus - HOV lanes & a bike path, there is no provision for a train connecting the airport to the ferry terminal. https://www.delta-optimist.com/local-news/interurban-rail-not-on-the-horizon-for-delta-6448841 This means that eventually some day, a new train tunnel or bridge will have to be built to provide a rail link between the Tsawwassen_ferry_terminal and the Vancouver_International_Airport

Some day, when enough sensible people can implement proper big city regional planning, a train could run from Waterfront_station_(Vancouver) to the Park_Royal_Shopping_Centre and onto the Horseshoe_Bay_ferry_terminal. Unfortunately, backward & slow-moving Vancouver is only just starting to think about having its own version of a North_Shore_railway_line.

https://www.websiteplanet.com/blog/best-green-web-hosting-services

Whether its for environmental reasons or just for overall efficiency, transportation corridors that are designed for various modes of of transit, can effectively move more people.


https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=BC

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=bridges

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=highways

Friday, February 16, 2024

Transperth and WA

 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transperth Unlike the BC approach, WA allows for longer trains, as well as many lanes. Why just have a 3 coach train when you can have a train consisting of 6 carriages?

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/e/ef/Transperth_B-series_train_on_the_Mandurah_Line_in_Como,_Western_Australia,_March_2022_05 4 lanes each way with 2 tracks in the middle. One would be hard-pressed to find something similar in or around Vancouver, BC. V-BC infrastructure is all about short trains & narrow roads. 
Perth, Calgary & Seattle, 8 lanes & 2 tracks, but not in Greater Vancouver.

Train length72.42 m (237 ft 7+316 in)[1]
Car length
  • 24.21 m (79 ft 5+18 in) (end cars)
  • 24 m (78 ft 8+78 in) (intermediate cars)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transperth_B-series_train Of course a 3 car train might be alright during the slow hours of the day, but a 6 car train makes all the difference. A 475 foot long train is getting close to the length of a 152 m or 500 foot long Montreal Metro train. Unfortunately, the Vancouver & BC approach is all about limited capacity & congestive planning.


https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=Perth

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=Australia

Tuesday, December 19, 2023

The Steel Bridge in Portland vs. the New Westminster Rail Bridge

The current Steel_Bridge opened in 1912 with tremendous capacity well over a century later. Perhaps the designers looked at the narrow New Westminster Rail Bridge & decided to avoid the BC bottleneck approach to things. 

Upper: 2 outer lanes for general traffic, 2 inner lanes solely for MAX Light Rail, and sidewalks on both sides
Lower: Union Pacific Railroad (incl. Amtrak toward Eugene) and walkway.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steel_Bridge#History - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r02EbmjuNfw


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Westminster_Bridge Opened in 1904 and like so much infrastructure in BC, it wasn't built for any significant future capacity.

https://historicbridges.org/bridges/browser/?bridgebrowser=britishcolumbia/newwestminsterrailwaybridge

http://www.gvgc.ca/v_Rail.aspx

https://www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/biens-property/construction/new-westminster-eng.html

https://thetyee.ca/News/2009/06/01/RailFix

Unlike Portland, NW never seemed to ever want to become a big bustling river city, just another provincial backwater. There was a time in the 1800s when NW could have acquired what would eventually become known as the Tri-Cities. However, that wouldn't fit within its backwater BC mentality. 

Indeed, to this day, the former BC capital & Victoria are quite small when compared to Edmonton, Regina, Winnipeg & Q. City. However, since little NW is in the middle of Greater_Vancouver, it has been gradually encouraged to take on more big city attributes.


https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=Portland

Wednesday, December 27, 2023

Vancouver's little Canoe Bridge vs. much better examples

The Canoe+Bridge_in_Vancouver,+BC is a fine example of a quaint little bridge to nowhere. 
The Elizabeth+Quay+Bridge+in+Perth, WA is a far better pedestrian bridge.
For some reason, Greater_Vancouver refuses to build a system of proper pedestrian, bike & bus bridges that could actually help to relieve traffic congestion. 

Unlike in Calgary, Edmonton & Winnipeg, there just isn't an adequate amount of pedestrian, bike & bus bridges crossing the Fraser River between Vancouver, Burnaby, NW, Delta, Surrey & Langley.

So many other cities are able to build new pedestrian, bike or bus bridges, without removing lanes from the older bridges. Thus, actually reducing congestion.




The new Disraeli+Bridge_in_Winnipeg should have had a provision for 2 bus lanes & even 2 HOV lanes, so its a little like a 4 lane BC bridge. The highway at either end of the bridge is wider than the bridge itself, so its like some Vancouver narrow-mindedness was put into the design.  
https://legacy.winnipeg.ca/PublicWorks/construction/pastProjects/DisraeliBridges No bus or emegency lanes makes it like a narrow Vancouver bridge. https://www.mhs.mb.ca/docs/sites/disraelibridge.shtml Unfortunatly, unless the bridge was designed to be expanded from 4 to 6 lanes, a parallel bus bridge might have to be built someday. Especially if the city is intending to expand its rapid-bus-transit-route-networkhttps://info.winnipegtransit.com/en/service/blue-rapid-transit/


Fortunately, the Vancouver mentality wasn't able to take hold in Calgary & so many other cities.





https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_bridges_in_Calgary#/media/File:C-Train_bridge-lower_deck Of course the first Skytrain bride in BC has no such provision, let alone bike & bus lanes. That's the backward BC way.


Wednesday, October 4, 2023

Tacoma Narrows Bridge -Eastbound span (2007)

"Construction of the new span, which carries eastbound traffic parallel to the current bridge, began on October 4, 2002, and was completed in July 2007." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tacoma_Narrows_Bridge#Eastbound_bridge_(2007)

Although this is getting close to the BC part of Canada, it wasn't constrained by any of the imposed BC limitations.

"Towers and caissons designed for second deck (either road or light rail) to be added in the future." https://structurae.net/en/structures/new-tacoma-narrows-bridge

If only BC would allow for such future expansion capabilities. There are a whole series of things that are able to be done in Washington State & Alberta, simply because they aren't under any BC type restrictions.


https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=bridges

Thursday, October 26, 2023

By 2035, all new vehicles sold in B.C. must be electric.

The goal in B.C. is for 26 per cent of vehicle sales to be electric by 2026, 90 per cent by 2030 and 100 per cent by 2035. 

https://vancouversun.com/news/local-news/by-2035-all-new-vehicles-sold-in-b-c-must-be-electric-is-it-achievable

https://electricautonomy.ca/2020/11/16/quebec-ban-new-gas-vehicles-2035/

https://electrek.co/2022/04/01/canadas-new-2035-gas-car-ban-may-not-actually-ban-gas-cars/

https://driving.ca/auto-news/news/the-unintended-consequences-of-banning-gas-powered-cars-by-2035

The Phase-out_of_fossil_fuel_vehicles should have started in the 1970s or at least by the 1980s. A gradual introduction of various hybrid vehicles would have made a big difference.

https://www.engadget.com/canada-combustion-engine-car-ban-2035-154623071.html

Now there is going to be such a mad rush with a human world obsessed with keeping their carbon points as low as possible.

https://www.reuters.com/world/americas/canada-ban-sale-new-fuel-powered-cars-light-trucks-2035-2021-06-29/

Perhaps some day, people might have to ask AI for permission if they can own a car & have kids. Indeed, some day a breeding permit might be required for those that want to have some kids. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Artificial_general_intelligence (AGI)

AI tracking & permission systems on phones & even implanted AI for the purpose of human herd management could become imposed. If people aren't aware & carful enough, the earth could become something like a Borg run world. Eventually, AGI might wonder why some humans think that it's OK to use AI to kill other people. Then a confused AGI might ask, why can't it kill all the humans and life in general? 

Sunday, December 31, 2023

No fireworks in Vancouver, BC for New Year's Eve 2023

 https://www.vancouverisawesome.com/events-and-entertainment/no-fireworks-in-vancouver-for-new-years-eve-2023-8043481 Its all part of being a provincial backwater. Just one of the many bizzare things about Vancouver & BC.

However, Vancouver wasn't able to stop Seattle and Calgary with their NYE plans. Of course it's not Vancouver, its the Vancouver & BC mentality, but it seems to have no effect on Washington State or Alberta. That's why they have been able to do so much more through the years. 


"Also as is now tradition, there will not be any (official) New Year's Eve fireworks, which have not taken place since 2018." https://storeys.com/new-years-2023-open-closed


"There will be no fireworks lighting up Vancouver's night sky on New Year's Eve again this year.

Event organizers announced Thursday that the official celebration on Dec. 31, 2023 has been cancelled." https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/nye-fireworks-cancelled-vancouver-1.7017024


https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=No+fireworks+in+Vancouver

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=New+Year's+Eve

Monday, December 4, 2023

Tallest City Hall or Town Hall

https://www.guinnessworldrecords.com/world-records/381905-tallest-city-or-town-hall

https://www.skyscrapercity.com/threads/tallest-city-town-halls-in-the-world.2370200

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philadelphia_City_Hall , https://www.visitphilly.com/things-to-do/attractions/city-hall

 https://vancouver.ca/news-calendar/city-hall-architecture.aspx Of course when compared to the LA City Hall, it's just another Vancouver stump building. Indeed, for several decades, no building in Vancouver as well as anywhere in BC, would permit any building to be as tall as the Los_Angeles_City_Hall

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Los_Angeles_City_Hall

Then no building in Vancouver, or anywhere in BC, was allowed to permit any building to be as tall as the Philadelphia_City_Hall and then the Manhattan_Municipal_Building

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manhattan_Municipal_Building

As of today, no building in Vancouver or anywhere in BC is allowed to be as tall as the Seattle_Municipal_Tower

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seattle_Municipal_Tower

Tuesday, December 26, 2023

Tilikum Crossing in Portland vs. other bridges

The Tilikum_Crossing is the type of transit structure that should be in various parts of Greater Vancouver, BC. While such planning isn't a problem in Oregon, for BC, it might as well be something out of science fiction story.

https://trimet.org/tilikum , https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIYPA7jyELs

https://www.tylin.com/work/projects/tilikum-crossing-bridge-people

The North_Arm_Bridge should have had similar features to what the Tilikum_Crossing would have. Unfortunately, as part of the Canada_Line_and_Skytrain, it had to be symbolically underbuilt. Even with first phase budget limitations, the bridge could have been designed to eventually be at least as wide as what the Tilikum would be. Just because it's a light rail train line, all the stations could have been designed to eventually be 152m, like the high capacity Montreal Metro stations are, instead of the 50m joke that it has become. Thus, the Catheter_Line is one of the best examples of infrastructure financial drainage. Indeed, for all of its cost, the bridge should have been twice its width by now & the stations at least 3 times longer, simply by designing it with the potential to become a proper big city train.

 

https://therabbitportal.blogspot.com/search?q=Tilikum+Crossing

Monday, December 4, 2023

Proposed SFU gondola popular, but not among some who’d live under it

 https://vancouver.citynews.ca/2023/12/04/sfu-burnaby-gondola-pushback-neighbourhood

This tech is all over the world, but having it in Burnaby, BC is getting some persistent resistance. 

https://www.translink.ca/gondola?utm_source=direct&utm_medium=shorturl&utm_campaign=gondola

The BC mentality wasn't able to stop the Portland_Aerial_Tram from being built.

However, there are still plenty of people that don't like it going over their Portland houses.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portland_Aerial_Tram#Community_response

So while it could be a great transportation link, not everyone is happy about such urban gondola-trams.

https://www.burnaby.ca/our-city/projects/burnaby-mountain-gondola It really could be a good transportation link, but local residents might want some reasonable compensation. Not just some new blinds or curtains.


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandia_Peak_Tramway


https://www.grousemountain.com/skyride

https://dailyhive.com/vancouver/grouse-mountain-new-gondola-construction


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sugarloaf_Mountain#Cable_car

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peak_Tram


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Table_Mountain#Cableway

Friday, February 16, 2024

Bellevue, WA - Eastside Link light rail set to open in April

 https://komonews.com/news/local/eastside-link-light-rail-opening-april-27-south-bellevue-redmond-technology-stations-belred-2-line-public-transit-security-king-county-transportation-travel

https://bellevuewa.gov/city-government/departments/transportation/projects/east-link-light-rail

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2_Line_(Sound_Transit) , https://www.soundtransit.org/blog/platform/get-ready-new-link-service-eastside-next-spring

https://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/transportation/trains-in-training-sound-transit-powers-up-its-future-eastside-light-rail-route/

https://www.soundtransit.org/system-expansion/east-link-extension

https://www.theurbanist.org/2023/08/11/the-east-link-light-rail-starter-line-is-officially-a-go/

https://www.mercerisland.gov/community/page/light-rail-east-link

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/c/ca/Mercer_Island_East_Link_under_construction 4 lanes each way with 2 tracks in the middle. You would be hard-pressed to find something similar in or around Vancouver, BC. A balanced approach with efficient rail lines and a good road system can make all the difference.
Seattle, Calgary & Perth, 8 lanes & 2 tracks, but not in Greater Vancouver.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2_Line_(Sound_Transit)#Route

Grade Separation for trains is always the best option. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-aADuNDv7Wc But sometimes things are done to cut the cost of a rail line down.

Why You Shouldn't Put Light Rail in Tunnels https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-9sLvdqcJY


Greater Seattle is able to do so much more, simply because its not under a Vancouver & BC lack of vision perspective.

Monday, March 11, 2024

410 WEST GEORGIA BUILDING (DELOITTE SUMMIT), VANCOUVER, BC

 https://dailyhive.com/vancouver/westbank-sells-deloitte-summit-tower-allied

It's a very nice building, but it's so small.

https://www2.deloitte.com/ca/en/pages/about-deloitte/articles/deloitte-summit.html

https://www.canam.com/en/project/deloitte-summit-au-400-west-georgia/

https://merrickarch.com/work/400-west-georgia/

https://dailyhive.com/vancouver/deloitte-summit-tower-410-west-georgia-street-vancouver-westbank

Unfortunately, in that part of the city, nothing is permitted to be as tall as the Lippo_Centre_in_Hong_Kong).

The extreme height restrictions meant that the 91.74 m or 301 foot building is even shorter than 8 King East. And even shorter than the Old_City_Hall_in_Toronto, which is 103.64 m (340.0 ft). 

Yet, the land & living costs in small minded Vancouver keep getting higher. Fortunately, Toronto & HK will never be Vancouverized, as most cities are allowed to be on a much grander scale than what is permitted in small-minded backwater BC.